Mexican Pumpkin Soup (Low Fat, Vegan)

November 4, 2010

For the last several days I’ve been browsing the web, looking for a delicious pumpkin soup to make.  Several sounded pretty yummy, but not exactly what I was looking for.  So yesterday, I decided to make up my own recipe.  And, I have to say, it turned out better than I could have imagined.  My whole family loved it!  Even my picky eater made it disappear rather quickly.  So, below is the recipe.

Mexican Pumpkin Soup

1 Large Yellow Onion

6 Cloves of Garlic

1 Package of Vegan Chorizo

2 cups of pureed pumpkin (or one large can of Libby’s pumpkin)

1 can chili beans

1 can diced tomatoes

1 jalapeno, chopped fine

4 cups vegetable broth (water will work fine, too)

5 medium potatoes, chopped in 1/2 inch cubes

1/2 tsp turmeric

1 tsp parsley

1 tsp oregano

salt to taste (I used just a dash)

In a large pot, sautee onions in a little vegetable broth.  After onions are clear, add the garlic and simmer for a few minutes.  Add the chorizo, turn heat up to medium, and cook through, stirring occasionally.  Add the rest of the ingredients, stir well.  Turn up the heat, stir often.  When it comes to a boil, turn down to low and let simmer for 30-45 minutes, until potatoes are tender.

ENJOY!!

Leave a Reply

